Posted by: victanguera | February 11, 2010

Writing Prompt #139

Back to beginnings. On Alexandra Sokoloff’s blog The Dark Salon, she talks about the importance of making a master list of books and movies we wish we’d written. The idea is that sorting through that list should give us an idea of what we like, what themes we turn to again and again.

So for today’s prompt, make a list. Alexandra suggests it should be a minimum of ten books or movies that we wish we’d written. Don’t skimp, though. This should help me finish my list. I’ve only got seven items on it so far, and I know there are more books/movies I wish I’d thought of first.


Responses

  1. Here is the start of my list of books/movies I wish I’d thought of (in no particular order):

    Dracula Bram Stoker
    To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee
    12 Monkeys
    Rebecca Daphne du Maurier
    The Raven Edgar Allen Poe (technically not a book, but there you go
    Fish, Blood & Bone Leslie Forbes
    Gulliver’s Travels Samuel Johnson
    To Say Nothing of the Dog Connie Willis (just wish I could write like her, period)
    Lost World Michael Crichton (book, not the movie. It is better than Jurassic Park the movie or the book)
    Sixth Sense

    Now to figure out if there is something common between these. I’ll work on making a longer list as well. What did you come up with?


Leave a comment

Categories