Posted by: victanguera | February 21, 2012

Tidbit Tuesday #1

I’m going to try something different for a while. I’ve kind of burned out posting prompts and have neglected the blog a bit as a result. One of the main reasons for posting prompts was to encourage me to keep writing. It only worked at the beginning when I actually posted the results of what I’d written. When I stopped doing that, the prompts became more difficult to come up with, and soon no writing took place as a result of my own prompts. Fail and fail.

So for a while, I’m going to post tidbits from things I’m working on, either a work in progress, or… another work in progress. Yep, they are all WIP’s at this point in time :}

Here is my first. This is a first draft, and I’m not too sure about the last two lines. They feel off right now, but I’ll deal with it once the story is complete. After all, it might not even be something that stays. Comments/crits are welcome.

“I don’t trust you.” Malachi’s nostrils flared, and I really wondered if he had the power to smell a lie. That wouldn’t go well for me.

“I’m sure you don’t.” I stuck my hands in my jeans, rocked back and forth between the balls of my feet and my heels, trying to act unconcerned. “In fact, I’d be surprised if you trusted anyone.” Malachi opened his mouth and I raised a hand to forestall him. “I don’t mean that as an insult. You’re like I am. Trust is a wasted emotion. It weakens a person. Better to always be on the guard, correct?”

Malachi’s brows rose, and after a moment he nodded. “Correct.”

“Mind you, I do believe that some deserve less trust than others.” I left the ambiguity of that hanging. He could think that I meant Tobias and that he was even less untrustworthy than the lowest. Or he could think I meant that I could be trusted more than the least trustworthy. A statement like that could go either way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

