Posted by: victanguera | October 12, 2011

Thou Doth Protest Too Much: Writing Prompt #356

Have you ever noticed how people will tell you over and over again they don’t do something very often, but evidence contradicts them. For example, I know someone who tells me they don’t eat ice cream very often, but one summer we stopped for ice cream almost every weekend. And at her suggestion, not mine.

So for today’s prompt, does your main character protest that they don’t do something–only to walk off and do exactly what they said they don’t? Does someone with them? How would you character or others react to this behaviour? Just raise an eyebrow and let it go? Call your character out (and get in to a fight over it?).

Me? I never say anything. I only like conflict in my stories.

Responses

  1. Ha! The first thing I thought of is people who always say, ‘I don’t like to talk about myself much, but…’ and then unleash a huge monologue.

    • I know, right?

  2. …but sometimes it’s easier to give blanket statements that you know aren’t true… like, I tell people I don’t like sweet food, but that’s because I’m just really picky about the kind of sweet I do like (and I DON’T mean maple syrup on curry ;p). I don’t want to have to go through a list of likes/dislikes all the time, so the blanket statement saves time and is easier for me to say no when people serve desserts I really don’t like and I don’t want to offend them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

