Posted by: victanguera | October 9, 2011

Six Sentence Sunday #5

I really appreciate all the visitors each week. The best part of participating in Six Sentence Sunday is that I woke up the other night with words in my head. Like a sentence that would work for… something. Just don’t know what yet, and it hasn’t gone very far. But they were words. Beyond blog posts, this is the first writing in… let’s not talk about it. Woot!

For this week, I thought I’d post some of Black Rose (you can find the first chapter here). These six sentences are the start of the second chapter. (Hope no one minds that I’m not posting from the Psychic Wars this week.)

I slipped into the whiteness behind Drew. Unless I wanted to lose everything I’d worked so hard to gain, common sense told me to stay and help, but right now I needed to cool off a bit. So instead, I headed diagonally across the graveyard in the direction of my business. Superstitious dread kept me from stepping on the graves; I knew what existed under the innocuous looking mounds of earth.

A hand on the back of my collar stopped me short, yanking me off the ground. Something enormous held me so tight the zipper on my jacket bit into my windpipe.

Responses

  1. Chilling. Great job. 🙂

  2. Nice. Not just conflict, but a real sense of danger.

  3. Intriguing and haunting world. I hope you post more from this in the coming weeks. Would love to know more.

  4. Thanks for the feedback. Yep, will most definitely post more from this one next week.

  5. Whoa. Intense and spine-tingling. Great six.

  6. Love the setup. Nice way to leave us (and your character) hanging : )

  7. The rising sense of danger really propels this. Well done!

  8. Gripping six! I want to keep reading. You can just feel her tension.

  9. Really good-I want to know what happens. Is it zombie? Is it caretaker?

    • It’s a… oh wait, you’ll have to come back :}

  10. Ooooh~ NICE!! This has really tightened up!!! …the whiteness is the mist, right?

    Smacks lips. Next?

    • I’m going through and taking out most of Tavi’s reactions to things. I added them in in the second draft, but they never really worked. Taking them out tightens everything.

      Yes, the white is the mist. It is at the end of the last chapter and I didn’t think it needed restating, but could change it if it isn’t clear.

      • I doubt it needs it. I was just confirming, but I was 99% sure 😉 Should be interesting… Tavi holding her cards closer will make the reader wonder a little 😉

  11. Oh dear! Sounds dangerous. What happens next???

    • Things will get worse for her. Much worse.


Leave a Reply

Categories

