Posted by: victanguera | September 12, 2011

Between the Lines: Writing Prompt #354

When I meet someone (or even if I’ve known them for a while), I often find myself speculating on the person’s story. I’ll watch interactions and try to puzzle out how things connect. Some of these ideas follow logically, some are based on a bit of intuition. But some things are pure make believe. And I know that. But it is kind of fun to think about where someone came from. Some of that speculation can be the basis for interesting ideas for stories (as long as you don’t fashion a character too closely after a person you know). I’m more than happy to take a snippet of someone’s character and meld it with a facet from someone else and see where that takes me.

So for today’s prompt, think about things that you don’t know about people. The things between the lines. The things they don’t tell you about themselves. The guy in a relationship but tells you he isn’t. The girl with a low paying job but wears high-end designer clothes. Feel free to make things up. We’re story-tellers. It’s what we do best.

Leave a Reply

Categories

