Posted by: victanguera | July 19, 2011

The ‘Truth’ Behind the Image: Writing Prompt #345

This morning when I drove to Starbuck’s to get my coffee, I saw this fellow trying to lift something oddly shaped from the back of his vehicle. As I was driving at the time, all I could really tell is that it had wheels, was flatish. And was dripping dry dirt from the bottom. Dirt? Dry? What, that makes no sense. It has rained for days. More than buckets. Skip cats and dogs and go straight to lions and tigers and bears. That’s how much rain we’ve had this week. So why dirt dripping from the wheels? Not knowing, I’ll make something up. Like cemeteries (okay, yeah I have a thing for cemeteries).

So for today’s prompt, what kinds of strange tales can you come up with when you try to figure out the ‘truth’ behind something you witnessed?

Responses

  1. Great prompt idea. I bet it wasn’t dirt, but ashes. Maybe he got tired of his naggy wife, did a little choppy-choppy and then burned the evidence in his fireplace during the aforementioned cool, rainy weather. Now he just needed to get rid of the last bit of evidence…

    Lol, I guess I like to think on the darker side of things, too. 🙂

    Angela @ The Bookshelf Muse

    • Another great option. And of course no one would think he’s disposing of the evidence in a mall parking lot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

