Posted by: victanguera | July 12, 2011

Perceptions: Writing Prompt #344

I’m overweight. And not by just a small amount. Closer to a forty pound amount. In my mind, that makes me quite a generous size. One of my friends is quite tall and a plus-sized woman. Whenever we go shopping, she apologizes for dragging me in to a store where everything would be to big for me. But in order to help a smaller friend find suitable clothing, she’s taken her to the same store to shop. So somehow, my friend perceives me as the smaller person. I find that intriguing. Is is how I carry myself? Certainly isn’t what I wear as I tend to go for jeans and a sweater.

So for today’s prompt, think about perceptions others have of your character. Or possibly perceptions your character has about someone else. Are they accurate? If you explore the perceptions your main character has, where did they come from? Is there a way to use those views to create conflict within a scene?

Leave a Reply

Categories

