Posted by: victanguera | January 13, 2011

Making the Choice: Writing Prompt #288

Sometimes, decisions are easy to make. We know what we should do, or where we should go. This weekend, I have two places I need to be, and they are both at the same time. One is partially obligation, but it’s also somewhere I want to be: it’s my grandson’s second birthday. The other is a dj workshop with a guest from out of town. Someone that might not come back and do another workshop here.

The choice isn’t really that difficult. I’ll disappoint my daughter if I’m not at the birthday party. As a result, I’ll disappoint myself. Because damn I want to take that workshop. Like really damn. Since I realized they both happen at the same time, I’ve been trying to figure out how to make it work. Without success, of course.

So for today’s prompt, put your main character in a scene where they have to make a choice between two events. Make sure there are consequences to missing both. Which do they chose? Why? What does it reveal about your character?

Hum, I wonder if it would be acceptable to be late to the birthday party?

Leave a Reply

Categories

