Posted by: victanguera | December 10, 2010

Writing Prompt #279

What comes to mind when you think of a person’s core values/greatest strengths/virtues? I consider loyalty to be one of my core values. But unfortunately, that loyalty has caused me emotional conflict on more than one occasion. Instead of a virtue or strength, it feels like an anchor weighing me to places or situations I’d rather not be in.

So for today’s prompt, what values does your character have that could be seen as a weakness rather than a strength? How can you exploit that for emotional conflict within a story? Think of ways friends or those within a relationship circle that could try to get your main character to change their values in order to simplify a problem. This could cause more emotional conflict for your character. Is it possible for your character to begin to see something they’ve chosen as a value as a negative in their life and decide to change? What would be the tipping point for that change?

For me, I’ll always be a loyal person, even when it causes me emotional grief and the simpler solution is to walk away from a situation. Ah conflict, what would a writer have without it.

Responses

  1. I’ve been thinking about this exact thing with my latest MS. My half-human MC is compassionate where her companion is not. Her companion sees it as weakness and tries to change her. They rarely see eye-to-eye on any conflict because of their different virtues.

    Awesome writing prompt!

    • Ah, exactly like that. So does she question herself or their relationship? What other values does she have that makes her stay? Very intriguing. It gives so much room for conflict and character development/change.


Leave a Reply

Categories

