Posted by: victanguera | November 5, 2010

Blogging the NaNo Failure

Okay, in a fit of absolute stupidity, I signed up for NaNo again this year. Except I’m going away tomorrow. That meant that all this week, I’ve been packing. And re-packing. And then deciding I put everything in the wrong bag and doing it all over again.

What I haven’t done much of is write. Oh, don’t get me wrong, everything looked fine up until Wednesday evening when I realized I hadn’t even touched my carry-on. And that I had basically one evening to make sure everything went in the right bag. Wow, those airline regulations really increase the time it takes to figure out what you can bring and where you can put it.

So I wrote nothing last night. But I did finish packing. Which is a good thing as a leave straight after work. But now I’m about 4,000 words behind. Yeah. That’s not going to happen. Unless a bout of unbelievable creativity hits me on one of those long flights to and from Buenos Aires. I’ll have my laptop with me, just in case.

In the meantime, I’ll blog my failure. Just for those others that signed up and can see their word count falling far behind.

Responses

  1. One of my ML’s was something like 25k behind on the last couple days of the month. She pulled it off. Four thousand isn’t that much. While enjoying your trip is probably going to be your top priority, don’t write yourself off as a “failure” just yet. Besides, the point of NaNoWriMo is to write something and have fun doing so. Even if you don’t hit the 50k, if you enjoy yourself, you’ve participated in the NaNo Spirit.

    Have a safe trip!

    • Wow, what a recovery. Yeah, I could still do it, just need to take the time to write, not that it’s much of a priority. In Buenos Aires, once I’m done tootling around for the day, there I’ll have several hours before I go to the milonga in the evening, so can do some writing then. You never know. Maybe I’ll even finish early. Snicker.


Leave a Reply

Categories

