Posted by: victanguera | September 21, 2010

Writing Prompt #249

In November, I’m heading to Buenos Aires for my birthday. In July, I booked a perfect flight–no long layovers, one stop and an amazing price. Unfortunately, the airline went bankrupt a few weeks later. Yeah, no wonder the price was so fabulous. I had to wait several more weeks (biting my fingers the entire time) for my refund to arrive so I could book again. Except that flights are now almost $500 more. That’s the cost of renting an apartment while I’m there. And I’m not sure I can afford it. Airmiles to the rescue!

That got me thinking. Am I the only one that thinks this, or have others also noticed that in books, money never seems to stand in the way of a protagonist’s goal. If they need to fly across the country, the only thing that seems to stand in their way is weather (okay, so that’s probably more realistic), and flight delays (yeah, ain’t that the truth).

So for today’s prompt, what if your protagonist has to do something and doesn’t have the funds. What would happen?

Responses

  1. I don’t know if you’ve read it once, but funds (and the lack thereof) are very important in Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind. Of course, they also form a major subplot as a result. I personally figure if it doesn’t, then it’s not all that important.

    (I do have one wip I’ve been trying to write for a couple of years now where it is; some day I hope to find a form the story can work in.)

    • I started that book, but never finished it. I’d only just gotten to the part where money would be an issue, and had forgotten that. Thanks for reminding me. Still need to read that book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

