Posted by: victanguera | September 2, 2010

Writing Prompt #242

Last night I finished reading Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. This has to be one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. A very long time. No, I’m not going to give you any spoilers. No information about the plot. But I will tell you that this book carries an intense emotional impact. It made me realize how much I’ve missed that in books I’ve read recently.

And in my own writing.

It could be why I’ve stalled. I like emotional impact. And I can’t seem to find it in the stories bumping around in my head. As a result, the ideas bore me.

So for today’s prompt, think about emotional impact within a scene and within the larger story. What impacts one person won’t necessarily impact someone else. So what do you gravitate to? How can you re-create that in your writing? Does your writing bring someone to tears? Laughter? Send shivers down their spine? Write a scene that hits the emotional buttons that you find important.

Leave a Reply

Categories

