Posted by: victanguera | May 19, 2010

What Keeps You Reading?

On a forum I belong too, considerable discussion is raging over the House/Cuddy hook up at the end of this season of House. A couple people are meh about it, not sure if they want to continue watching. Because I’m pretty sure something else happened, I can hardly wait for the next season to start, partly because I want to see if I’m right. This isn’t the final episode for House, but only the last episode of this season. Do you really think we’re going to get a happy ever after with House?

That’s TV, a bit different than a book, but the premise is still the same. With a book, if something unexpected happens you can see how many more pages remain. If a scene similar to that last House episode occurred in a book, I’d have one of those mini-discussions with myself about not peeking (I never do, but I’m frequently tempted).

Not all books have twists in the plot. I’ve read fairly linear books and kept going, even though I don’t shake the book and yell ‘what?’ at the cover. It could be emotional resonance with the main character that keeps me reading. Sometimes the hope that something unexpected might happen keeps me engaged. A brilliant book uses that emotional resonance I feel for a character as the plot twist–that keeps me reading every time.

So what keeps you reading?

Responses

  1. See I do peek when I’m reading a book so I’m in a pretty bad shape right now: I’m dying to know 🙂

    And btw I’m with you- something else happened and it’s a good thing we have 3 mouths to obsess about it!

    • Yeah, three whole months to not know what really happened. Damn it, damn it, damn it. ::glowers at TV::

      With a book, I wouldn’t have to wait that long, I’d just stay up all night reading.


Leave a Reply

Categories

