Posted by: victanguera | May 18, 2010

Writing Prompt #188

It takes great skill for a writer to layer in clues so I reader can ascertain where a story is going. I think it takes even greater skill to lead the reader’s mind down the wrong path, especially if they don’t feel duped when they realize they came to the wrong conclusion. A reader should be able to have a ‘doh’ moment when they connect the dots and see why they thought the plot led them in another direction.

After last night’s House episode, it will be interesting if I’m the one that has the ‘doh’ moment. I hope not. Well, yes I do because if I’m right… Ah, I’d love to be wrong.

So for today’s prompt, see if you can write a scene where you misinform the reader, but in such a way that the reader doesn’t feel betrayed when you reveal the truth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

