Posted by: victanguera | May 5, 2010

Writing Prompt #180

Yesterday I read a blog post by Sean Ferrell. He talks about transcribing an old handwritten manuscript into his computer and what he found when he did. I love his comment that in a manuscript things that don’t fit are often gifts we leave ourselves, little trails we can follow like clues to find what we really wanted to say.

So I’ve dug out my first draft of my manuscript to re-read it. I mean, it’s gone through so many revisions, I can’t remember what I wanted to say in the first place. Maybe by reading that drivel version, I can figure that out. And make my WIP stronger as a result. Can’t make it much worse than it already is.

So for today’s prompt, take an old piece of writing (the older the better, you probably want to come at this with fresh eyes) and re-read it. Find the nuggets you’ve left yourself. Find out what doesn’t fit. Is it something significant? How does it fit with your final version? Re-write either a scene (or the whole thing) to tie things in that look like random events or bits of information that don’t go anywhere.

Responses

  1. Some of that old writing can be a bit scary. Thank you for the interesting challenge!

    • Old writing = scary. Yeah, that’s so true.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Linda Frear. Linda Frear said: Writing Prompt #180: http://wp.me/pe6d3-jP […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

