Posted by: victanguera | March 18, 2010

Writing Prompt #153

If our character makes a choice that someone else might question or disagree with, it makes sense that our character may need to withhold information from others. This could be anything from the way they feel about another person to where or what they are going to do.

So for today’s prompt, write a scene where one character tells another something that isn’t true. Why don’t they tell the truth? Are they trying to protect their friend or themselves? Are they trying to avoid a conflict? If that’s the case, how can you arrange the scene so conflict occurs anyhow?

Responses

  1. “So, all these years and you never told me.”
    “No, but –.”
    “Did you enjoy it, laughing at me like that? I’m an investigative reporter; do you know what you do my esteem with your — your robots, and doubles, and cheap tricks?”
    “I didn’t mean to; I was only trying to protect you –.”
    “From what? Jimmy knows.”
    “He doesn’t.”
    “And he’s your best pal.”
    “It doesn’t have to be like this.”
    “Like what? You think I’m just going to forget that, brush it aside? You lied to me about who you really are for years and now you want me to trust you, to marry you when I don’t even know you?”
    “But you do know me –.”
    “You’ve kept over half your life secret from me, Clark!”
    “I don’t know what you do when you’re not at work either. Much. I’m sorry, but it’s not my fault. The editor’s insisted on it.”
    “Oh, so they had kryptonite?”
    “…. kind of?”

    • Nice! Okay, maybe I’ll get off my duff after work and write something too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

