Posted by: victanguera | February 23, 2010

Talking About Tango (And Ice Dance)

Did you see the ice dancing last night? Wow. That’s all I can say. The Canadian couple were brilliant. Okay, I’m Canadian and probably a bit biased, but if you know anything about dance, you have to admit the Canadians had the best frame and connection.

Earlier in the evening, I watched an interview with the couple. They’d chosen tango for their short program (which I unfortunately missed). In the video, they talk about the road they took to get to the Olympics. The video finished with a tango. A real Argentine tango. On the floor, not on ice. Immaculate footwork. Intense connection. Perfect posture. Shit, those two know how to dance tango. Like really dance. Not some fake I think I’m good and slap icing on it. OMG, I’d love to see them dance in my community.

That perfect posture, intense connection and immaculate footwork translated into a stunning ice performance. No wonder Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir won the gold.

And oh boy, do they deserve it.

Responses

  1. Bloody Hell, I missed it. But was it really really really an Argentine Tango? I can only imagine that it had a lot of fancy show moves! Good for the ice or stage, but not for the dance floor.

    • Yep, the real stuff that translates to a dance floor. The clip they showed on ctvolympics.ca looked like salon, but I’d bet they could dance milonguero too. You can’t have footwork like she does unless you can do the real stuff too. Every step collected, frame maintained at every moment. That showed during the ice dance performance–that frame that never wavered. That’s why they won the gold.


Leave a Reply

Categories

