Posted by: victanguera | December 11, 2009

Writing Prompt #110

I’ve been thinking a lot about character development. Somewhere I read that fully round characters should have a hobby. But characters are often like real people (or should be), and not everyone has a hobby. Neither of my friends do (I have enough for all of us, quilting, sewing clothes, art, tango, writing). Is your character a workaholic? Do they spend every available moment with friends or family? Are they an introvert? Do they even have a hobby? If so, what might it be? How does it change how they react in a situation: I’m sorry, I can’t save the world right now. I have to knit the heel of this sock.

Responses

  1. “I can’t save the world right now. I have to knit the heel of this sock.” That should be on a t-shirt somewhere.

    I don’t think my characters have hobbies, or at least they don’t have hobbies that come into the story – probably because they are pretty busy. It is an interesting thought. I’ll have to think about my characters and see if they actually do have hobbies. Thanks for sharing this.

    • That would make a funny t-shirt. My main character doesn’t have a hobby. But she owns a business and is dead during the day. I wonder if that counts?


Leave a Reply

Categories

