Posted by: victanguera | November 16, 2009

Back on the Horse (or Falling off the Wagon)

Last Tuesday, my daughter came by to help me switch all the files from my old computer onto an external hard drive so I could put them on my new computer. Of course by the time we were done, I accomplished no writing for the day.

After much slogging for the remainder of the week, I’d mostly caught up my word count by Friday. Then on Saturday, I took my two grandchildren to their first movie. Half a day gone, and I needed the afternoon to prepare for my crit group. Saturday evening I went for drinks and appys with friends–ah birthdays. Oh, and in my in-box when I returned home was a request to dj on Sunday night as the regular dj was sick. No words written on Saturday. None. Nada. Zip. Okay, I tell myself, I’ll get back on the writing horse tomorrow after crit group.

Sunday: Crit group went much (much) longer than anticipated. I didn’t get home until after five. That left me much less time to prepare a playlist for the milonga on Sunday night. And still no words written. By this time I’m thinking I can’t even find the horse, let alone get back on it.

I opened both iTunes and my writing file. I’d wrote a few words, while listening to songs. That meant I’d stop writing to drag a song into the playlist. But while I wasn’t really paying attention, I wrote 399 words. Yipee. I thought I was back on track and would at least accomplish the day’s word count and the doorbell rang.

Most of my friends don’t just drop by my place without calling first, so I figured I’d only have to brush off some door to door solicitor. A bouquet of flowers dwarfed my friend. She’s little, what can I say. So we visited until the milonga.

One weekend. Three hundred and ninety-nine words. Oh my god. Now I’m so far behind on NaNo, I can’t even begin to comprehend catching up. But I’m going to get back on the horse, go for a ride and see where it leads me. I’m not so worried about word count right now. If I write something today, I’ll be happy.

Even if it is only three hundred and ninety-nine words. Hey, what are you sitting there for? Get back on the horse.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great time! Sometimes we do have to live our lives a little. I find that taking time to write for my blogs can take up a lot of time and I don’t get much else done, and then I need to do things and no writing gets done. Blogging is nothing like writing a book, but it all takes time and writing is a very solitary affair.
    399 words is better than nothing! Good luck with getting back on the horse!

    • Yes, I had a great time, but it’s hard not to feel guilty when we set goals for ourselves and miss the mark. I managed about 1,000 words yesterday and almost 800 today. Have to remind myself that although that might me short of the NaNo mark, it’s still decent word count.


Leave a Reply

Categories

