Posted by: victanguera | September 26, 2009

Writing Prompt #67

For today’s prompt, I opened Wuthering Heights at random. Here is the second sentence from the beginning of chapter eleven:

I’ve persuaded my conscience that it was a duty to warn him how people talked regarding his ways; and then I’ve recollected his confirmed bad habits, and, hopeless of benefiting him, have flinched from re-entering the dismal house, doubting if I could bear to be taken at my word.

Ooh, I love that–she’d rather be thought a liar than taken at her word. Hum, think I need to add this book to my To Be Re-Read pile (almost as large as the TBR pile).

Leave a Reply

Categories

