Posted by: victanguera | September 10, 2009

Writing Prompt #61

I’m starting to realize that writing isn’t just a set of rules. There are core structures necessary to tell a good story (yep, that dreaded plot), but for the actual process of how we get there–everyone has a different route they must take. And the route we take for one story won’t necessarily work for the next one. Try as we might to force it to fit, it resists us. Ask me how I know.

So for today’s prompt, I thought I’d try something a little different. I’m going to provide four unconnected words and see what comes from trying to put them together. Here they are:

affection, decontaminate, citrus, tailor

Responses

  1. I love using random words for writing prompts – it’s how I start most of my writing. These are interesting words; I look forward to trying to make something of them!

    • Although the idea has been in the back of my mind for a while, I haven’t tried this method yet. Feel free to post your results (or a link to your own blog) if you like.

  2. […] I started something using the words prompts Citrus, Decontaminate, Affection and Tailor from this post.  I called it Citrus Affection.  I quite like the name, but it doesn’t really fit a story […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

