Posted by: victanguera | July 20, 2009

Day #24 Exercise

Okay, this is not complete. I’m not quite sure where I want to take this, but somewhere further. I’ll post more on this tomorrow.

It couldn’t be a good sign that the theatre parking lot contained no vehicles. At least it only cost a couple bucks for both the movie and the stale bag of popcorn. And I couldn’t expect anything better from the cheap theatre. Inside, the theatre was dark, cold, and equally empty. Not even the two for one Tuesday could encourage people to come out to such a dull movie.

They should try boredom, it’s a great motivator, I thought.

I wandered down the aisle looking for the perfect seat, not really a hard choice. Edging into the middle of a row, I propped my feet on the seat in front of me and munched on a kernel of greasy yellowy corn waiting for the credits.

“Can I sit here?”

The deep, sensual brogue traced tracks of longing down my skin. Not for him, but for home. I quickly suppresed it, angry with myself for caring. A tall, dark-haired man stood beside me. I could tell he’d be a good three inches taller than my almost six-foot height. If I bothered to stand.

I stared at the vacant room and back at the stranger.

“Yeah, whatever. It’s not like you have any other options for a place to sit.” Scrunching further into the uncomfortable seat, I popped another piece of cardboard flavoured popcorn into my mouth and chewed, eyes shut so I didn’t stare at him.

“I know who you are.” My eyes popped open and I did stare then, long and not too kindly. There was no way he could know who I was. No one knew.

“Someone who also has bad taste in movies,” I asked. The lights dimmed and I turned to the screen, ignoring the man beside me, hoping he’d extend me the same courtesy.

“You aren’t doing a very good job of hiding.” The darkness hid my raised eyebrows, riding up into my hairline like they had a mind of their own. Shock will do that to a person.

“I’m almost six feet tall with flaming red hair. Hiding isn’t really on my list of things to do,” I said in an attempt to cover my fear. Glancing around the movie theatre to see if anyone else could hear him would only make him think he was right. I nibbled on another handful of popcorn, watching the opening scene as if mesmerized.

“You sure picked a stupid hell hole to hide in,”  he said. This time I did look at him. Hell hole. That was rich.

“Anyone my size has a hard enough time blending into a crowd. Hiding isn’t an option,” I said through clenched teeth. Unfortunately I hadn’t been able to pick my skin or the size of the body that went with it. Otherwise I might have asked for something a little less… flamboyant. “Exactly who am I supposed to be hiding from.”

Not that I really wanted the answer to that question. He might tell me. And I thought I already knew.

“Malachi is extremely upset you didn’t complete what he asked of you. He gave you the most simple task imaginable and instead you split.”

He had no idea the delicate nature of what had Malachi asked of me. Very few knew how I’d gotten that little line, signed in drops of crimson blood, seeping through the page to stain the table beneath. Stains that never came out. I’d delivered the papers to Malachi myself, waited while he created a new body for me. Waited while he told me I’d more than exceeded his expectations. Until he told me I was free.

Except I knew he couldn’t let me go.

“Look, I think you must have the wrong person,” I said, picking at the now cold popcorn. My fingers quivered, betraying me.

“No, Malachi was very specific whom I should look for.” He flicked a piece of paper at me, and I stared in car-wreck fascination at my own face, staring back at me from the top of my popcorn.

Leave a Reply

Categories

