Posted by: victanguera | July 2, 2009

Day Eight Exercise

“Come to the market with me, Amanda,” Veronica had said. She’d called me at eleven-thirty at night, just as I’d crawled into bed with a good book and a glass of red wine. If she waited this late to call, another friend probably bailed on her.

“You know I don’t really like crowds.” I could imagine the bodies, masses of people smelling of stale sweat and sunscreen. Or other things best left unmentioned. Rattling off a list of friends more suitable to the task confirmed she’d already tried all her other choices.

We met in a square awash in bodies. At least my wide brimmed hat shielded me from the sight of most people.

Except for Daniel. He towered over the crowds, his gaze piercing through me. I pulled the hat low over my eyes and sprinted away from him.

“Amanda,” Daniel’s voice cut through the bustle of people, but I didn’t stop. I couldn’t let him catch me. Never again. The swarm parted in front of me as he tackled me from behind.

I tried to stop, but the weight of his body carried the two of us crashing into the fountain. I came up for air, dress dripping, clinging to me and showing things best left unnoticed. This wasn’t what I planned for, but in my own defense, I hadn’t actually expected to go swimming.

Leave a Reply

Categories

