Posted by: victanguera | June 10, 2009

2/3 of the Way Home

Today I read a post on revisions on The Blood Red Pencil. Alexandra Sokoloff gives a list of the top ten things she knows about editing. Point number six talks about the three act structure. She says that at the pivotal points of the story, the emotional tension has to be “huge, pivotal, devastating, game-changing”. These points are 1/4 of the way through, 1/2 way through, 3/4 of the way through and at the climax.

So I checked my WIP. And I have the scene at 1/4 and 1/2 and the climax nailed. But not the one at the 3/4 point. Definitely not the one at the 3/4 point. But whoo hoo, it is so exciting to know that those two scenes that I see as pivotal are actually in the right place.

That gives me some hope that maybe everything will actually come together with this one.

Oh, and I bought one of Alexandra’s books on my way home from work.

Leave a Reply

Categories

