Posted by: victanguera | October 22, 2008

Motivation

Or What Does Your Character Want and What Gets in Their Way?

I could also subtitle this Why My Novel Sucks. Recently, I realized that there was no tension in the opening of my novel even though I’d already cut the first two chapters. Reflecting on what was missing, I realized my main character lacks motivation. I have no idea what she wants. Maybe she knows, but has neglected to tell me. Or maybe she just doesn’t know.

As a result, my main character comes across as very passive. Instead of actively looking for a way to reach said goal, things happen to her. If I figure out what motivates Tavi, I’ll probably have to change everything I’ve written so far, but it will be worth it. How satisfying it would be to see everything come alive.

Leave a Reply

Categories

