Posted by: victanguera | October 6, 2008

Revisions

I’m sick of my novel. If I got too close to a box of matches… I won’t complete that sentence. It might give me ideas best left alone. Instead, I’m dreaming of desk drawers. Or boxes under the bed. Or a shovel, tin can and the back yard. Give me a moment, I’ll be okay.

I don’t know if signing up for the a course on revisions started the desire to bury my novel, or only emphasized my writer’s angst. I have to bring a work in progress. No problem. I have one of those. Parts of it have survived my critique group. Parts of it haven’t. Survived that is.

But I also know that the beginning doesn’t work. At all. There is no tension. Nothing to draw the reader in and say “what the hell”. No compelling reason to keep reading. I have an idea how to change it, but it is like rebuilding a structure once the foundation is laid. Playing with the beginning could destroy everything else.

Each sentence I change leads to other areas that will have to be corrected later. The realization I have to take this mess to my first class tonight is giving me nightmares. So yesterday, instead of working on it, I played computer games. Something I never do normally. Great. That really helped.

Quick, someone take the matches away…

Responses

  1. I understand you completely.

    I always feel that way right after a critique session….wondering if I need to re-vamp everything I’d previously labored over. It’s probably why I haven’t actually worked much on my novel lately, mainly because I’m waiting for NaNo to finish the thing and to put off the looming revision process.

    I know though that there’s months of revision and research ahead, and I’m not looking forward to it at all.

    Perhaps I should hide the lighter now…..

  2. I know exactly what you’re talking about since the title of my last book was in fact Revisions!

    The author was so frustrated with his book that he shot it and then burned his laptop on the grill.

    I loved writing those scenes. Loved it a bit too much in fact. 🙂

  3. Burning a laptop… so much more drastic than anything I came up with. But I’ll keep it in mind in case things don’t go well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

