Posted by: victanguera | July 8, 2008

Disappearing Characters

I have a character in my book that keeps disappearing. I found him once in a graveyard buried under a pile of leaves. Now, I’m about 30,000 words into the re-write, and I’ve realized that even though I found him under the pile of leaves, he’s disappeared again. Just gone. I remember as I wrote that he kept disappearing. He’s the same one that vanishes before the end of the book, never to be seen again.

Pondering this problem yesterday, I had an ah ha moment. Simply: my MC doesn’t find him in the graveyard. There is another scene upcoming where is sudden re-appearance will make more sense. Now, not only will she have to escape, but she will have to rescue a troll. One that could be her enemy.

Responses

  1. […] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by offtomarketca on July 14, 2008 Disappearing Characters https://writeidea.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/disappearing-characters/ – bookmarked by 3 members […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

