Posted by: victanguera | May 26, 2008

Voice

Do other writers have this problems too? I’m so afraid that what I read will unintentionally influence what I write, that I’ve stopped reading. Not completely, but close enough. I miss reading–I love the sound of words on a page, the imagery those words create in my head. Instead of reading, on Saturday, I went to the book store and purchased three books. I added them to a stack on the edge of the couch that are also unread. In my sewing room are several more that I haven’t looked at. In my bedroom are at least three more. I’ve buried those under books I have read so I don’t notice them as much. The other day, I even found one in amongst my cookbooks.

So I’ve picked up a book and started to read. And read. And read some more. The books in the corners of my house span various genres, and multiple voices. I have to trust myself that the imagery I create is my own unique blend brought forth from how I like to hear words sound on a page, and not borrowed from someone else. Now if I could only remember where I put that book….

Responses

  1. Stealing someone else’s voice was something that used to terrify me. And it’s true that after I’ve read a book, I tend to write in that author’s style for the next few days. I think my creative writing teacher said it best when he told me “writers try on many different styles before they find their own”.

    Good to see a fellow nanowrimo starting the dreaded editing process! I just read through my story and I can tell already it needs a lot of work…

    Good luck!

  2. I like what your teacher had to say. The editing is more work than the writing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

