Posted by: victanguera | April 14, 2008

Where to go From Here

As I work at the start of my novel (yet again), I’m starting to wonder if it is unfix-able. I know where I’m going, but don’t know how to get there from where I started. I moved one section, and that helped some. Now I need to write new information that ties two sections together without giving away too much.

I wrote the thing, I should be able to chop it up into fiddly bits and put it back together in some semblance of order. I found a decent way to disassociate myself from the words I wrote–retype them into a new document. The process worked more like reading and I was able to chop out whole sections.

Note to self: don’t show work in rough process to your writer’s group. As I think through the story, cut from here and paste to there, a better sense develops. But in the back of my mind resides the thought that the story has been read a certain way. Moving sections will make it read differently and could confuse them. Guess I need to get over that and just do what is necessary.

Responses

  1. There isn’t any great author in history who hasn’t stared at a work in progress and thought “This is a piece of garbage, I should quit”. Stephen King famously dumped the first batch of pages from his novel CARRIE in the garbage only to have his wife Tabitha fish them out, read them and tell him he had something and should stick with it.

    And the rest, as they say, is history.

    Write on…

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. I’d love to see myself as the next Stephen King, but think I’d settle for polishing enough to query an agent. My head is teeming with ideas too, so I want to move on and feel I can’t until this one is done. Now if that isn’t motivation, I don’t know what is!


Leave a Reply

Categories

