Posted by: victanguera | April 9, 2008

Re-writes

I’ve made the decision to start the book later. That means I’ve ditched the entire first chapter (no loss) and half of the second chapter. It makes for a very short chapter so far. Between here and the next logical section there is a fairly large gap. I already knew information would need to be added here, but wasn’t sure exactly what it should be. It could be one of the reasons I’ve let it fester in a drawer. This is an opportunity to bring out some of the back story that was eliminated when I deleted the first chapter.

When I started writing, I had a nebulous plot idea, but by the end of the second chapter, the plot went south instead of the heroine. From there until almost completion, I had no idea what was going on, so I have enough red herrings to start a fish factory. Although I need to hint at what is really going on, I have to keep it from the reader until Tavi herself figures it out.

I’m off to polish my pen. I think I know what comes next. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

