Posted by: victanguera | April 6, 2008

How Much is Enough?

At writing group today, I realized how tricky it is to set the stage for alternate worlds. As writers, we create the ‘rules’. The challenge is how much to say. What is enough? What is too much? Reading one story, I was left confused. I didn’t know where her main character was, but it was essential to the story.

I know from first hand experience that is a task easier said than done. As I do re-writes, it is even more essential to check for congruity. If I wrote is once, it may have been edited out. Now, I’ve decided to start at a completely different point in time. This means adding even more new material. It will tie the beginning and the end together much more fluidly. But I have to remember to write the bits the set the stage for the urban fantasy world it takes place in.

Leave a Reply

Categories

