Posted by: victanguera | April 4, 2008

Writing Process

At this point in time, I wouldn’t consider myself a writer, rather a person who has written words. Just because I’ve written enough words to fit into a ‘book’, does that make me a writer? I have burning question about the process. Right now, I’m reading other writer’s blogs, agent blogs and more, trying to get a feel for what others go through. The big question is what to do once you’ve written that ‘book’, but are still editing. The process feels different. It is analytical and thought provoking, but words don’t always appear on the paper. I miss the daily routine of sitting at a computer after work with a word count goal to reach.

So, do other authors write new material while they are in the editing process. I can’t seem to figure this out yet. How does that work? Editing takes one thought process, creation another. If I create new stories, will they push out the old one, making it even harder to edit? I wrote a short story for my writer’s groups that would make an amazing prologue for a book, so I know I have to develop it further. Except I’m only at Chapter two in the re-write on the first idea.

Right now, my creative energy is funneled into quilting. I’m trying to do some editing every day, but it isn’t working well. I really want to write something–anything–but that isn’t going well. I have three solid ideas though, so I’ll make notes, start research for them and pretend that editing is actually writing new words. Some of them actually have been. Maybe that counts.

Responses

  1. I know it was awhile ago that you posted this now, but did you ever get over your dilemma and just start calling yourself a writer? 😉

    You’re right, the tangible joy and progress of seeing your word count climb is hard to beat and editing always seems so anti-climatic somehow. I do count hours editing as hours of writing–it’s just as much (or more) work and I need the encouragement.

    And as for this, “Do other authors write new material while they are in the editing process. I can’t seem to figure this out yet. How does that work? Editing takes one thought process, creation another. If I create new stories, will they push out the old one, making it even harder to edit?”

    Well, those are the questions driving me crazy right now that drove me to your post! I write novels and the editing process takes a long time . . . I’m going to try to order my days with new writing everyday and just hope it doesn’t hurt my editing brain.

    Happy writing. Thanks for the introspective post!

    • Some days I think of myself as a writer. Other days I think of myself as delusional and crazy. Thinking of editing as writing makes sense. It takes so much longer than the actual first draft, it isn’t valid to think of it as something else.

      I only have about 50 pages more to re-write until I finish this version, so I’m starting to get exciting. I’ve fixed so many plot holes and character issues. Next come beta readers and revisions based on feedback. I’m hoping that happens soon. Okay, I’m going back to work at this some more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

